What is SGA (Student Government Association)?

Student Government Association

"As representatives of Troy University, we commit to excellence in leadership through service, enthusiasm, and Trojan Pride!"

All students who register at Troy University become members of the Student Government Association (SGA), which seeks to provide an actual laboratory situation for the practice of democracy on campus. The purpose of this organization is to provide opportunities for the practice of good citizenship, to promote cooperation, and to achieve participation in student activities of recognized value.

The Troy University SGA has three (3) branches: The Executive Branch, The Legislative Branch, and The Judicial Branch.

The Executive Branch consists of the President, Vice President of Legislative Affairs, Vice President of Campus Activities, Secretary, and Clerk. Elections are held each Spring Semester.

The Legislative Branch consists of 40 student Senators. They are elected Spring Semester every year and when vacancies occur.

The Judicial Branch consists of nine (9) Supreme Court Justices. They are appointed and keep their positions until they graduate or resign.

The SGA needs hard working students who are interested in improving student life at Troy University.

For more information about SGA, visit the Student Government Association web page.

Print Article


Article ID: 44576
Tue 12/12/17 5:45 PM
Tue 2/18/20 11:28 AM